Rules and Points of Interest of the Eurovision Song Contest 2016

In Stockholm for the 3rd time

The 61st edition of the Eurovision Song Contest will be held in the Swedish capital Stockholm for the third time in its history. The city previously hosted the contest in 1975 and 2000. The host city is decided by the country of origin of the competition winner from the preceding year, who last year was Måns Zelmerlöw with his hit Heroes. In addition, Måns will also be appearing this year alongside actress and dancer Petra Mede. The semi-finals and final will be hosted in the multi-functional Globen Arena, which in the past has been the venue, for example, of the ice hockey World Championships. The building can hold over 16,000 spectators.

New voting system

For the first time since 1975, voting has undergone a significant change. Unlike previous years, votes will be divided between a panel of experts from individual countries and the viewers' votes. The panel will distribute 1-8, 10 and 12 points to ten songs. Viewers will first learn these points from the announcers of individual public television channels. They will then hand out the same number of points. The votes from individual countries will be added up and added to the votes of the panel. The country which receives the most votes will be the winner.

Advance to finals

The contest is divided into two semi-finals and one final evening. Ten countries will advance from each semi-final and join the so-called Big Five (France, Italy, Germany, Spain and Great Britain) and the host country in the grand final.

Most viewed european show

The Eurovision Song Contest is one of the oldest television shows in the world, having first taken place on 24 May 1956. Since that time, it has become not only a European tradition, but also the most watched European television event. Eurovision's award ceremony has been organised by 38 cities. The record is currently held by London, which has hosted the contest a total of four times.